May 20, 2024

Application Form | Deadline: July 31, 2024

Disability Credit Canada is dedicated to assisting disabled Canadians in accessing the benefits they deserve from the government. Recognizing the unique challenges faced by disabled individuals, we are committed to supporting young Canadians with disabilities in pursuing higher education. We are pleased to announce the “DCCI Scholarship for Canadian Students with Disabilities.”

Scholarship Details:

  • The annual scholarship provides $1,000 towards tuition fees at an accredited Canadian post-secondary institution.
  • It is awarded to a Canadian high school student with a documented disability, pursuing post-secondary education in health care, criminal justice, or community & social services.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Applicant must be enrolled full-time in a health care, criminal justice, or community & social services program at an accredited Canadian post-secondary institution.
  • Canadian citizenship or permanent residency is required.
  • Applicant must have a documented disability.
  • Age limit: under 20 years at the time of application.

How to Apply:

Submit an original essay (500-700 words) on the topic: “How did your disability shape your decision to study the program you chose.”

Required Documents:

  • Proof of high school graduation in 2024.
  • Proof of acceptance to an accredited post-secondary institution for Fall 2024.
  • Proof of Canadian citizenship or permanent residency.
  • Documented proof of disability.

Application Deadline:
All documents must be submitted by 6 PM EST on July 31, 2024.

Award Procedure:

  • Only submissions with complete essays and required documents will be considered.
  • Entries will be evaluated based on originality, quality, and merit by Disability Credit Canada staff.
  • The recipient will be notified by August 31, 2024, and the scholarship will be awarded upon proof of registration to a qualified program.

Scholarship Application Form:
Please fill out all mandatory fields and combine all required documents into one PDF file for submission.

Previous Winners:

  • Katarina Vuorensivu (2019) – Simon Fraser University
  • Preston Swan-Merrison (2020) – University of Windsor
  • Megan Cote (2021) – Dalhousie University
  • Jazye Monieas (2022) – University of Winnipeg
  • Alexis Stanbrook-McIntyre (2023) – Brook University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *